How it Works

Live show Minsk 2018
— Photo: Andres Putting

New to the Junior Eurovision Song Contest? Need to refresh your memory? Are you an undercover time-traveller from the 1800s wondering what this is all about? Read on!

19 countries will compete in the 2019 edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest held in Gliwice-Silesia, Poland.

Each participating national broadcaster chooses their artist(s) (a maximum of 6 people), and a brand new song (of a maximum of 3 minutes) through a nationally televised selection or internal selection. They need to do so each year before early October, the official deadline to send in entries.

From there, each country goes on to perform in the Contest at the end of November and is scored by a mix of public and jury vote. Of course, only one country will emerge the winner.

Check out the Opening Ceremony of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2019 below.