Skip to main content

Surprise! Ukraine joins as 20th country for Minsk 2018

02 August 2018 at 11:44 CEST
JESC 2017 Stage EBU
We are proud to announce the highest number of participating countries in the history of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest ever! By adding Ukraine to our — already impressive! — 2018 lineup, we will have 20 countries participating in Minsk later this year.

Ukraine, who won the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2012 with Anastasiya Petryk’s Nebo, joins the previously announced Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, France, FYR Macedonia, Georgia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, the Netherlands and Wales for the 2018 contest.

Belarus’ public broadcaster BTRC (Belarusian Television and Radio Company) will host the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018, which will take place at the Minsk Arena on Sunday 25 November, the second time the contest has been held at the 15,000 seat stadium in the Belarusian capital.

This year could see the most exciting contest yet with fierce competition for the accolade of previous winners Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Italy, Malta, Russia, The Netherlands and Ukraine plus a host of other strong contenders. Both Kazakhstan and Wales are competing in the contest for the first time. 

Watch 2017 winner Polina Bogusevich from Russia perform her song Wings:

The full list of the participating countries (and their respective EBU Member and Associate Broadcasters):

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (ABC/SBS)
  • Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • France (France TV)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Ireland (TG4)
  • Israel (KAN)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Ukraine (UA:PBC)
  • Wales (S4C)