Skip to main content

Ten finalists for Malta's national selection announced

31 May 2017 at 19:39 CEST
Out of 84 boys and girls, twenty young talents were invited to audition to represent Malta at the 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest. Out of those twenty, ten have been shortlisted to take part in a televised national selection programme.

During a live show on 1st of July, all contestants will perform covers of well-known songs. The winner will be chosen through televoting by the Maltese audience.

The ten chosen hopefuls are (in alphabetical order of last names):

  • Thea Aquilina
  • Jahel Cardona
  • Gianluca Cilia
  • Kira Copperstone
  • Riona Degiorgio
  • Rianne Demicoli
  • Aidan Jay Drakard
  • Demi Galea
  • Kylie Meilak
  • Veronica Rotin

Broadcaster PBC will eventually make sure the winner of the Maltese national selection travels to the 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest with the right song.

Last year's Junior Eurovision Song Contest took place in Malta, whereas this year's edition will take place in the Georgian capital of Tbilisi.