Skip to main content

These are the 19 countries taking part in Junior Eurovision 2019

18 July 2019 at 16:02 CEST
Participating countries Junior Eurovision 2019 EBU
On 24 November, 19 countries will #ShareTheJoy in Gliwice-Silesia for the 17th Junior Eurovision Song Contest, hosted by Polish public broadcaster TVP.

Albania, Armenia, Australia, Belarus, France, Georgia, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Malta, North Macedonia, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, Spain, the Netherlands, Ukraine and Wales will take part in the 2019 Junior Eurovision Song Contest at Arena Gliwice.

Spain is returning to the competition for the first time since 2006. Spain has an outstanding track record in their short Junior Eurovision Song Contest history with one win, two second places and a fourth place. Their participation started at the inaugural edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2003 when the event took place in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Poland is hosting the competition for the first time after Roksana Węgiel’s delivered Poland its first victory at last year's competition in Minsk, Belarus.

Poland will be defending their title alongside previous winners Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Italy, Malta, the Netherlands, Russia, Spain and Ukraine plus the rest of the 2019 contenders Albania, Australia, France, Ireland, Kazakhstan, North Macedonia, Portugal, Serbia and Wales.

The winner of this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be invited to appear at the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest in the Netherlands.

Jon Ola Sand, the EBU’s Head of Live Events and JESC Executive Supervisor said "We are delighted to welcome talented young performers from 19 countries to the 17th Junior Eurovision Song Contest. TVP are promising a fantastic show which will allow all the contestants to shine as they #ShareTheJoy with young audiences and their families across Europe."

The full list of the participating countries (and their respective EBU Member and Associate Broadcasters):

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (ABC / SBS)*
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • France (France TV)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Ireland (TG4)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency)*
  • Malta (PBS)
  • North Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Spain (RTVE)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Ukraine (UA:PBC)
  • Wales (S4C)

* EBU Associates