Lemesos 2008

Lemesos 2008

Saturday, 22 November, 2008, 20:15 CET
Venue & Location
Spyros Kyprianou Athletic Centre, Lemesos, Cyprus
Host Broadcaster
Presented by
Alex Michael & Sophia Paraskeva
Executive Producer
Munro Forbes
EBU Supervisor
Svante Stockselius
Multicamera director
Klitos Klitou
The 2008 Junior Eurovision Song Contest was held on Saturday 22 November in Lemesos, Cyprus.

15 countries took part in total and it was the first contest where there were no debuting participants. The theme for the show was Fun In The Sun. Dima Bilan, who had won the Eurovision Song Contest earlier that year for Russia, performed during the interval alongside previous Cypriot Eurovision representative Evridiki.

In a change to the rule, only six performers were allowed on stage instead of the previous limit of eight. A jury made up of both children and adults was introduced which accounted for 50% of the overall score. The other 50% was decided by televoting.

Georgia won Junior Eurovision for the first time with the song Bzz performed by Bzikebi. Ukraine finished second with Lithuania in third.