Skip to main content

We're going back to Poland!

05 March 2020 at 10:01 CET
The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2020 will take place in Poland Thomas Hanses
Polish public broadcaster TVP will host the Junior Eurovision Song Contest again in 2020. The 18th edition of the Contest for talented artists aged 9 to 14 will take place on a yet-to-be-revealed date in a yet-to-be-revealed Host City. TVP is making history by becoming the first broadcaster to host 2 Junior Eurovision Song Contests in a row.

With Viki Gabor's triumph, TVP already became the first broadcaster to win the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2 years in a row. And there was another first: Viki's win marked the first time the Host Country won the competition.

Jon Ola Sand, the EBU’s Head of Live Events said: “We are delighted that TVP will be making history once again by hosting the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2020. Last year’s event in Gliwice set a new benchmark for the competition. The stunning production brought the Contest to a new level and we are so happy to be working with the talented team at TVP again this year.”

Junior Eurovision 2019 winner Viki Gabor with the trophy Thomas Hanses

"Polish Television is honoured to once again embark on this wonderful adventure and to organize this global event”, said Jacek Kurski, President of TVP. "The Junior Eurovision Song Contest is also important because it gives young performers a platform to show their great talent to audiences all over Europe. I am proud that TVP can contribute to their success."

Junior Eurovision history

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest began in 2003. Over the years, a total of 39 countries have participated in the competition. The 2019 competition saw 19 young stars take the stage with the hopes of securing the Junior Eurovision trophy. Georgia has won the Junior Eurovision Song Contest the most times – in 2008, 2011 and 2016. Poland, Belarus, Malta and Russia have each won the Contest twice.

Stay tuned for the date and Host City of Junior Eurovision 2020!