Skip to main content

The stars of the Junior Eurovision interval acts

01 November 2019 at 16:03 CET
Alexander Rybak
Between the performances from participants and the grand reveal of the results and winner, intervals acts take the Junior Eurovision stage to entertain and allow time for the votes to come in and be counted.

Interval acts have become an important part of the Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest alike. Over the years, interval acts at Junior Eurovision have taken all forms, from international singing groups like Westlife and Dutch band Ch!pz, to past Eurovision and Junior Eurovision stars.

Alexander Rybak

Alexander entered the Eurovision Song Contest in 2009 with Fairytale, a song he wrote and composed himself and won the Contest that year with a total of 387 points, the highest recorded score in the history of the Contest at that time. In 2018, Alexander returned to the Contest in Lisbon with That's How You Write A Song. In the years between, he received many accolades, including an invitation as an interval at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2010. While there, he took some time out to give some wise advice to the young contestants.

Emmelie de Forest

In 2013, Emmelie de Forest took home the trophy for Denmark with her song Only Teardrops. Later that year, she performed her Eurovision winning entry at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv, Ukraine. Emmelie was thrilled by the invitation and said that she looked forward to performing on stage and meeting the 12 young contestants.

Ralf Mackenbach

Ralf won the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2009 in Kyiv, Ukraine. He earned 121 points with the Dutch song Click Clack. In 2012, when the Junior Eurovision Song Contest was hosted by the Netherlands, Ralf took the stage once again to sing his song This Is Our Party alongside his winning hit.

Ralf Mackenbach - Click Clack (The Netherlands 2009)

María Isabel

María Isabel won the Junior Eurovision Song Contest for Spain in Lillehammer in 2004. In Hasselt in 2005, María once again took the stage to perform her winning song Antes Muerta Que Sencilla as well as a newer single, Pues Va A Ser Que No.

María Isabel - Antes Muerta Que Sencilla (Spain 2005)