Skip to content

Croatia returns to Junior Eurovision!

Croatia, the country that won the first ever Junior Eurovision Song Contest back in 2003, will again take part in the competition we can officially confirm.

National broadcaster HRT’s signed application form reached EBU Headquarters in Geneva today, confirming that they will enter the competition. It will be broadcast on HRT 2.

"To have the first ever winners of Junior Eurovision back in the competition is a happy moment for us all" said Executive Supervisor Vladislav Yakovlev. On the subject of adding any further countries to the competition, he went on to explain that "It’s looking like we’re going to have 16 countries taking part this year, which is a great number and I’m very happy to welcome to many countries both into and back into the Junior Eurovision family".

Dino Jelusić won the first competition in 2003 with "Ti si moja prva ljubav". After Mateo Đido came 10th in 2006, Croatia stopped taking part in Junior Eurovision, but will return to the competition this year after an absence of seven editions.