Skip to main content

Opening Ceremony kicks off Junior Eurovision 2019

18 November 2019 at 18:17 CET
Poland Thomas Hanses
The Opening Ceremony has taken place at the Silesian Theatre in Katowice, a neighbouring city to Gliwice in the region of Silesia. Delegations from all 19 participating countries walked the red carpet and the first, last and Polish positions in the running order were determined.

The delegations were welcomed by TVP president Jacek Kurski and Jon Ola Sand of the EBU and then walked the Red Carpet in alphabetical order to centre stage. There, they were interviewed by on-stage host Mateusz Szymkowiak, a Polish journalist and television presenter made popular as co-host of The Voice of Poland. Each delegation shared their excitement for the week ahead.

Re-watch the livestream here:

The live audience was then treated to a surprise performance by Polish boyband 4Dreamers singing their song Inapropro.

Boyband 4Dreamers performing their new single 'Inapropro' Thomas Hanses

Immediately after, Junior Eurovision 2018 winner Roksana Węgiel joined Mateusz on stage to draw the first, last and Polish performance position for the live show on Sunday 24 November.

Presenter Mateusz Szymkowiak and Roksana Węgiel during the draw Thomas Hanses

As it was drawn, Poland will perform 11th, Australia will perform 1st and Serbia will close the show as the 19th performance.

Liza Misnikova from Belarus with presenter Mateusz Szymkowiak Thomas Hanses

Next, Mateusz hosted the Gift Ceremony. In this ceremony, each participant gifted another delegation a small present representing their home country. Amongst the gifts were stroopwafels from the Netherlands which went to Belarus and a traditionally dried and hand-painted pomegranate from Armenia that was gifted to Portugal.

Portugal's Joana Almeida receives a present from Armenia's Karina Ignatyan Thomas Hanses

The Opening Ceremony ended with a performance from Roksana Węgiel singing the common song Share The Joy.