Niamh Kavanagh to lead TG4's judging panel

Releasing its Autumn schedule today, Irish broadcaster TG4 has revealed that Niamh Kavanagh - who won the Eurovision Song Contest in 1993 and also took part in 2010 - will be part of the judging panel selecting Ireland's first Junior Eurovision entry. The other judges will be Brian Kennedy - who presented Ireland in 2006 -, and Stiofán Ó Fearail from Seo Linn, the band behind the Coláiste Lurgan You Tube viral hits.

The shows will be pre-recorded in Dublin shortly, and TG4 will them air later in the autumn - commencing on 11 October and running for five weeks on consecutive Sundays. The shows will be hosted by Eoghan McDermott.

In each show, singers will perform their original Irish-language compositions, with the best making it through to the final. From there, one will be chosen to represent Ireland in Junior Eurovision for the first time ever!

Related stories

Ireland launches national selection for 2017

3 years ago

Ireland's Amazing Aimee Rehearses Again

5 years ago
Anna Kearney

Ireland chooses Anna Kearney

1 year ago