Skip to content

Maltese winning team honoured by President

The team of Destiny Chukunyere, Maria Abdilla, Roberta Debono, Matthew Mercieca, and Elton Zarb were presented with the Midalja għall-Qadi tar-Repubblika by the country's President, in recognition of Malta's victory in Sofia. "Not my soul", which won the event just under a month ago, also set a new record points total for a winning entry - 185.

After winning the competition in 2013, Gaia Gauchi was awarded with the Gieh ir-Republika – the highest honour of merit that can be given to a Maltese citizen, and was the youngest ever recipient of the award.

Malta now has two Junior Eurovision victories to its name, tying for the record of most wins with Belarus and Georgia.