Skip to main content

Exclusive: 13 countries to be represented at Junior 2009!

08 June 2009 at 14:00 CEST

The 13 countries to be represented are:

  • Armenia (ARMTV) 
  • Belarus (BTRC)  
  • Belgium (VRT)  
  • Cyprus (CyBC)  
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)  
  • Georgia (GPB)  
  • Malta (PBS)  
  • The Netherlands (AVRO)  
  • Romania (TVR)  
  • Russia (RTR)  
  • Serbia (RTS)  
  • Sweden (TV4)  
  • Ukraine (NTU)

Swedish broadcaster TV4 returns to the competition after a year of absence.

Last week, the EBU Steering Group for the event visited NTU in Kyiv to be informed about the preparations for the upcoming Junior Eurovision Song Contest. "The Ukrainian organisers are eager to produce the best ever Junior Eurovision Song Contest. One thing is for sure; Europe can already look forward to a spectacular family entertainment show to take place on the 21st of November," said Svante Stockselius, Executive Supervisor of the event on behalf of the EBU.

In 2005, NTU successfully hosted the 50th Eurovision Song Contest. The upcoming Junior Eurovision Song Contest will take place at the same venue as the adult competition in 2005, the Kyiv Sports Palace.