Skip to content

Change to line-up in Ukraine

In preparation for their Junior Eurovision 2014 national selection, Ukraine’s national broadcaster NTU carried out a detailed examination of all of the songs taking part. There is was discovered that Polina Ryzhak’s song “Tse Ukraina” was actually a cover version of Miley Cyrus’ “Nobody’s perfect”, released in 2006 as part of the TV series Hanna Montana.

Head of the semifinal selection jury, Mykhailo Nekrasov, said:  “Polina Ryzhak is, of course, a talented young, artist but when it comes to the image of Ukraine in an international competition, we have to react on such situations as it is unacceptable. At the same time, we admit that a young artist could have become a victim of the song composer’s unfair  action.”

In light of this, Polina has been withdrawn from the national selection. She is replaced by the music group "Fresh" – who placed 21st in the semifinal stage.

Ukraine’s national selection is currently scheduled to take place on 9 August. The new line-up of finalists is as follows:

  1. Elizabeth Zadoia
  2. Group "Fresh"
  3. Anna Nikonova
  4. Duet “Double Smile”
  5. Sofiia Yaremova
  6. Viktoriia Sviatogor
  7. Trio “Smile”
  8. Stasia Yevgrashyna
  9. Trio “Zviosdnaia kapel' ” (“Stars drip drop”)
  10. Mariia Tarnavska
  11. Anna Likhota
  12. Anna Trincher
  13. Sofiia Rol'
  14. Yulianna Vasylovska
  15. Veronika Yerokhova
  16. Duet “Boikov sisters”
  17. Denys Frolov
  18. Vocal Ensemble “Zabava” (“Fun”)
  19. Yaryna Taras
  20. Trio: Sofiia Kutsenko, Amaliia Krymska, Marta Rak