Skip to content
Photo: PBS/EBU

17 Countries Confirmed For Junior Eurovision 2016!

Among the countries set to take part are Cyprus, who were absent from last year’s competition, Israel who last took part in 2012, and Poland who have not taken part in over 10 years. Albania, Armenia, Australia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Georgia, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Malta, F. Y. R. Macedonia, Russia, Serbia and Ukraine also return to the event following their participation in last year’s event in Bulgaria.

The 2016 competition will be hosted by Maltese public broadcaster PBS at the Mediterranean Conference Centre. In changes to the format of the contest, the event will take place on a Sunday afternoon for the first time and participants can be between the ages of 9 to 14. 

Participants of the 2016 Junior Eurovision Song Contest

The following countries will participate in the 2016 Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Malta:

  • Albania (RTVSH)
  • Armenia (Public Television of Armenia)
  • Australia (SBS)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Bulgaria (BNT)
  • Cyprus (CYBC)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Ireland (TG4)
  • Israel (IBA)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Ukraine (NTU)

Since winning the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2015 in Sofia, 14 year-old Maltese singer Destiny Chukunyere has been embracing her own personal and professional achievements. On December 13th 2015, shortly after the competition, Destiny was awarded the Medal for Service to the Republic by the president of Malta, Marie Louise Coleiro Preca. At a press conference in Stockholm earlier this year she performed the theme song for the 2016 contest, Embrace