Skip to main content

100 days to go until Junior Eurovision 2017!

18 August 2017 at 14:19 CEST
There are just 100 days to go until the 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest! It will be the first time that Georgia has hosted a Eurovision event. What can you expect from the show this year?

Georgia made history when it won the Junior Eurovision Song Contest for a record third time last year. Tbilisi will play host to the 15th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. With just 100 days to go until the live show, the team are working hard to get ready for the show which will see 16 countries from Europe and beyond travel to Georgia's capital city.

The return of the public vote

In a brand new change to the voting system, the audience will be able to vote online. Viewers who would like to vote will be required to watch a recap of all songs, before entering the voting platform on this website. Initially this voting window will be open from Friday (24/11) to Sunday (26/11). This first round of voting will stop on Sunday (26/11) at 15:59 CET.

During the live show, online voting will start again after the last performance and will be open for 15 minutes. The final audience result will be a combination of both pre-show and live voting rounds, accounting for 50% of the total vote. In a Eurovision first, instead of voting only being available in participating countries, people from around the world will be able to cast their votes!

The return of Portugal

Portugal, which won the Eurovision Song Contest in May 2017, is returning to Junior Eurovision for the first time since 2007. Australia and Ireland will participate again for the third consecutive time. The line up also includes Belarus and The Netherlands, the only two countries to have participated in every single edition of Junior Eurovision since it launched in 2003.

In total 16 countries will participate in Junior Eurovision this year:

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (ABC)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Cyprus (CyBC)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Ireland (TG4)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Ukraine (UA:PBC)

In the coming weeks we will be revealing more about what you can expect from the show in 2017 including details about the interval acts, stage design and you will also find out who your hosts will be!